What's the roadmap for Devopedia?
Devopedia's GitHub webapp issues page
contains planned releases and issues to be addressed in each release. This is also where users can give suggestions, request new features or report bugs.
Why am I not able to create or edit an article?
Usually this is because you are using Devopedia as a visitor. To participate as an author or editor, you need to login to the system. You can either create an account manually or login via one of your social accounts. Currently we support Facebook, Google+ and LinkedIn social logins.
Why are articles sometimes shown as Checked Out?
When someone is editing an article, others will see that article as Checked Out. This prevents two people from editing the article at the same time. When the editor saves the article, the article will become editable by everyone once more.
On my dashboard, why is an article Checked Out against my name even when it's not open in my browser?
To remove the Checked Out status, you must either save the article, save it as draft or cancel the edit process. If you either close the browser tab or window, or click the browser's Back button, the article will remain Checked Out. This will prevent others from editing the article. As a shortcut, if you no longer wish to edit the article, you can check it in from your dashboard. Dashboard is useful if you wish to check in multiple articles at once.
How is saving an article different from saving the article as a draft?
Writing an article usually involves small additions or corrections. Often, the article content is work in progress and authors may not want others to see these changes. In such a case, authors should save it as a draft. Draft is visible only to the author. Only one draft is allowed per article. Drafts are not versioned unlike the articles themselves, which are versioned.
I have an article draft but why does it say there's a pending merge?
For example, let's say you saved a draft based on version 3 of an article. Subsequently, another author saved her changes and created version 4. If you continue editing your draft, it will not have the changes of version 4. For this reason, the system requires that you merge your changes on top of version 4. To facilitate merging, you will be able to see the changes you did on top of version 3. Alternatively, you may discard the draft if you wish to start fresh with version 4. System does not support automatic merge. You are therefore required to copy draft changes, discard the draft and then manually merge the changes on top of the latest article version.
I saved my changes as a draft. Why can't I see these changes on the article page?
Draft changes are visible only to you but these changes are visible only in the article's edit mode. The default view mode of the article will show saved and versioned changed, not draft changes. You can see draft changes when you start editing the article. The article page will indicate that you have a draft of the article.
Why am I not able to upload media to an article?
This restriction exists only for a new article. After the first version of the article is saved, subsequent edits will allow media upload.
Why are some articles not visible after I log out?
New articles are by default in Unpublished state until someone with privileges publishes the article. This means that visitors can see only Published articles. Unpublished articles are visible only to editors after they login to the system.
Why did my article get Archived?
The Archived state is used to hide the article, even for authors logged into the system. An article could get archived because it was created by mistake, another similar article already exists or it's content is deemed as spam. The Publisher who archived the article would usually mention the reason in the edit's version note.
Why are my edits not showing up on the article page?
The content structure of an article on Devopedia is fixed. This means that all content must appear within one of these defined sections. Markdown syntax is used to enter content. Your content is definitely saved but it may not appear on the article page if they occur outside any of the defined sections. More details are available on the Author Guidelines
Where can I see my latest edits?
You can see your latest edits on your dashboard page. In fact, on a separate tab on the same page, you can also see the latest edits of all users across the system.
Can I suggest new article topics?
Certainly. You can create the article yourself if you know some essentials on the topic. If not, you can use Devopedia's GitHub webapp issues page
to initiate a discussion first. The GitHub issues page is the place for all discussions not tied to a specific article. We also share a list of requested articles
. You can pick any article and start writing.
Can I suggest new questions to add to the Discussion section of an article?
Certainly. Every article has its own chat page where you can engage in active discussion with other editors. If others agree, you can edit the article yourself. If you need help, someone may take the lead in implementing your suggestions.
How can I add new tags to the system?
Primary tags are fixed at the moment. You can only add secondary tags to the system. You can add one directly by entering the tag on an article's edit page and pressing Enter. The tag gets created automatically and also gets associated with that article. Note that tag is created only when the article form is submitted.
What can I do if someone overwrites or deletes my edit?
Every article has a chat page where you should voice your concerns first before trying to undo someone else's edits. Try to understand why your edits might have been deleted. An open discussion is a better approach to resolving conflicts than confrontation and re-edits.
What if I don't agree with another author's edit on an article?
It's possible that you are not an editor of an article but see something obviously wrong with an edit. Remember that there's no ownership of articles on Devopedia. This means that you are welcome to make suggestions for improvements. Use the article's chat page to voice your concerns. After an open discussion, you can initiate an edit yourself or convince the previous editor to make the suggested changes.
When someone edits a page that I've authored, why am I not getting email notifications?
Email notifications are enabled by default but users can change their individual settings. Go to your user profile page and see if relevant email notifications are enabled.
Why is the chat page not auto-updating when someone replies to my comment?
The chat page is not really implemented as a real-time chat application. Hence, you may have to refresh the page manually or wait for the next poll from the browser. This poll is currently once per ten seconds. Polling happens only when the chat page is visible.
Can I specify the exact date for a milestone?
Milestones on the article page show either the year or the month and year. You may however mention the exact date in the description associated with that milestone.
What timezone is being used by Devopedia to display times?
All times are recorded in UTC. When displayed to user, these times are converted to the user's local timezone. Devopedia uses the user's system date and time settings to do this. If settings on your system are not accurate, this will reflect in the date and time values displayed on Devopedia.
Is my session persistent even when I close my browser?
A persistent session means that even if you close and reopen the browser, you need not log into Devopedia again. Your previous session will remain active. This is the normal behaviour if you have logged in via one of your social accounts. If you're using an account created on Devopedia, the session will be persistent only if you have clicked the Remember Me option when logging in.